OZ Info #1


Facts, Figures, Land, Flag


Facts and Figures

arrow Official Name

    Commonwealth of Australia

arrow Population 19,978,100

arrow Capital City Canberra (327,000)

arrow Administrative Divisions & Cities
populations, sizes and more   ... link

arrow Languages English, native dialects

arrow Official Currency Australian Dollar

arrow Currency Converter                    ...link

arrow Population Mix Caucasian (92%),
Asian (7%), Aboriginal, others (1%)
arrow Religions Anglican, Catholic, others

Date & Time provided by


arrow Land Area  7,617,930 sq km (2,941,285 sq miles)

arrow Land Description (landforms)                       ... link

arrow Latitude/Longitude 35º 31S, 149º 13E

arrow Highest Point Mt.Kosciuszko ...7,310 ft. (2,228 mtrs)



arrow Flag ... see description below 


arrow Times and Dates across Australia                  ...link

       Current Time and Date in Melbourne

Flag Description

The current flag of Australia was officially  adopted on May 22, 1909. It includes a blue ensign and three motifs, each signifying important aspects of statehood.
The 5 stars of the southern cross appear on the right half, the commonwealth star and the Union Jack are shown at left.
The southern cross is visible in the southern night skies and has been used as a navigational tool for centuries. The commonwealth star originally represented the six federal states. The seventh point was added in 1909 to help signify the addition of the Northern Territory. The Union Jack was named the national flag in 1788, and it remains on the current flag denoting Australia's historical links with Great Britain.